THE LITURGY


The beauty of the liturgy is part of the Mystery of Christ.
It is a very high expression of the glory of God and it constitutes, in a sense,
Heaven come down on earth.
Beauty is a constituent element of the liturgical action
in so far as it is an attribute of God Himself and of his revelation.

Pope Benedict XVI


LITURGICAL LIFE

All of monastic life is a liturgy, but the liturgical offices mark the day by seven particularly intense moments: five are celebrated in the solitude of the hermitage and two in the monastery church.

The monks and monastic sisters celebrate the OFFICE OF WATCHING when they arise, in the silence and solitude of the hermitage in order to keep vigil in watching for the return of the Bridegroom who comes in the middle of the night. It is a time of intercession for all those who are prey to the night of doubt, suffering, error, sin and unbelief.

In the monastery church, the monks and monastic sisters gather for the office of MATINS, which is followed by LAUDS, to sing to the true Dawn, “the Light of the east,” Christ, the Orient of orients. By Him, the Church is illuminated by the Light without setting. This is the principal office of the day. It includes a long period of psalmody and also biblical and patristic readings. The canticles of the Old and New Testaments, prolonged by the troparia of the Canon of Odes, are, like the psalms, the response of the Bride to the Bridegroom.

At 9 A.M., in the solitude of the cell, the monks and monastic sisters celebrate the office of TERCE which commemorates the completion of the paschal mystery by the effusion of the Fire of the Holy Spirit.

At noon, the hour of SEXT is celebrated. In the solitude of the hermitage, the monks and monastic sisters contemplate Christ nailed to the Cross.

At 3 P.M., the hour of NONE is celebrated. In the oratory of the cell or of the workshop, the monks and monastic sisters commemorate Jesus’ death of Love on the Cross.

At VESPERS, the community gathers in the monastery church in order to praise God for his creation. In the depths of the night of sinful man, the community welcomes with joy the appearance of the risen Christ who is the “Joyful Light of the holy Glory of the Father.” The Gospel of the day is proclaimed.

The office of COMPLINE, always celebrated in the cell, is the final liturgical act of the day. Before going to bed, the monks and monastic sisters commit their spirit into the hands of the Father, beseeching Christ to guard their hearts during the watches of the night.

The EUCHARIST is the summit of the liturgical day and of fraternal life. It is the daily offering to the Father of the sacrifice of Jesus for all of humanity. It is usually celebrated at the end of Matins or Vespers.

In our monastic Family, the different liturgical offices draw their inspiration from the liturgy of the east, while the Mass is of the Latin rite. These celebrations are colored by the particular liturgical periods of the year, feasts and by the memorials of the saints.

***

THE FEASTS OF THE LITURGICAL YEAR

The liturgy (the word means the work of the people) is the filial and loving response of men and women to God’s plan of Love for his creatures. Since the Incarnation of the Son of God in Jesus of Nazareth, who perfectly adored the Father, every human being can — by Him, with Him and in Him — address the Father with complete trust.

The liturgy of our monasteries is drawn from the churches of the east and west. The liturgical year unfolds the Mystery of Christ, following two lines which repeatedly intersect:

  • one is the great cycle of the Nativity, the Manifestation of God made man and of the Passover of the Redeemer, which is completed by the gift of the Spirit and the birth of the Church at Pentecost.

  • the other is that of the periodic feasts, when the Church celebrates and contemplates a particular Mystery of the life of the Redeemer or of the work of grace in the great saints.

During the course of each liturgical celebration, the Holy Spirit silently intensifies, in the hearts of those who are present, the Fire of Love, which He is in plenitude. To those who invoke Him, He lavishes his gifts, in order to hasten the coming of the Kingdom of God. For those who celebrate the Liturgy with faith and in communion with the Church of heaven and of earth, it is a call to pass from their own life to the life of Christ, and to be “transformed into his likeness from one degree of glory to another” 2 Co 3:18. That is why, when Christians are present at the Mass, which is the culmination of the Liturgy, they are called to pass from death to Life, from lies to the Truth, from discord to Love and from darkness to the Light — which is the Person of Christ.
Easter is the Feast of feasts, which celebrates in advance the deification of every person who believes in Jesus and who unites his will to the Father’s will. In Jesus, having passed from this world to the Father, we enter into the “Eighth Day,” the new and eternal Day of the risen Christ. It is with the Virgin Mary, the Mother of Jesus and his first disciple, that the Church celebrates this Mystery. Day after day, the Virgin Mary brings to birth in the true Life as expressed by the Gospel those who, with Saint John at the foot of the Cross, receive her as Mother.

LA LITURGIE


La beauté de la liturgie fait partie du Mystère du Christ,
elle est expression très haute de la gloire de Dieu et elle constitue, en un sens,
le Ciel qui vient sur la terre.
La beauté est un élément constitutif de l’action liturgique
en tant qu’elle est un attribut de Dieu Lui-même et de sa révélation.

Benoît XVI


LA VIE LITURGIQUE

Toute la vie monastique est liturgie mais celle-ci rythme la journée en sept moments particulièrement intenses : cinq sont vécus dans la solitude de l’ermitage et deux ensemble dans l’église du monastère.

A son lever, dans le silence et la solitude de son ermitage, alors qu’il fait encore nuit, le moine ou la moniale célèbre L’OFFICE DE L’ATTENTE pour monter la garde dans la veille du retour de l’Époux qui vient au milieu de la nuit. C’est un temps d’intercession pour tous les hommes en proie à la nuit du doute, de la souffrance, de l’erreur, du péché, de l’incroyance.

A l’église du monastère, les moines se rassemblent pour L’OFFICE DE MATINES suivi des LAUDES pour chanter l’Aurore véritable, « l’Orientale Lumen », le Christ, Orient des orients. Par Lui, l’Église est illuminée de la Lumière sans couchant. Cet office est l’office principal de la journée. Il comporte une longue psalmodie, des lectures bibliques et patristiques. Les cantiques de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Testament, prolongés par les tropaires du Canon des Odes, sont, comme les psaumes, la réponse de l’Epouse à l’Epoux.

A 9h, dans la solitude de la cellule, le moine ou la moniale célèbre L’OFFICE DE TIERCE qui commémore l’achèvement du mystère pascal pleinement réalisé par l’effusion du Feu de l’Esprit Saint.

A midi, c’est l’heure de SEXTE. Dans la solitude de son ermitage, le moine ou la moniale contemple le Christ cloué sur la Croix.

A 15h, c’est l’heure de NONE. Dans l’oratoire de sa cellule ou de son atelier de travail, le moine ou la moniale commémore la mort d’Amour de Jésus sur la Croix.

À VEPRES, la communauté se rassemble à l’église du monastère et loue Dieu pour sa création. Dans les profondeurs de la nuit de l’homme pécheur, elle accueille avec allégresse le surgissement du Christ ressuscité, « Lumière Joyeuse de la sainte Gloire du Père ». L’Évangile du jour est proclamé.

L’office de COMPLIES, toujours célébré en cellule, est le dernier acte liturgique de la journée. Avant de se coucher, le moine ou la moniale remet son esprit entre les mains du Père, invoquant le Christ pour qu’Il garde son cœur pendant les veilles de la nuit.

L’EUCHARISTIE est le sommet, à la fois de la journée et de la vie fraternelle. C’est l’offrande quotidienne au Père du sacrifice de Jésus pour toute l’humanité. Elle est en général célébrée à la suite des Matines ou des Vêpres.

Dans notre Famille monastique, les différents offices s’inspirent de la liturgie orientale tandis que l’Eucharistie est de rite occidental. Ces célébrations sont colorées par les temps liturgiques et les fêtes, et les saints honorés en ces jours-là.

***

LES FÊTES DE L’ANNÉE LITURGIQUE

La liturgie (ce mot signifie : le travail du peuple) est la réponse filiale et amoureuse des hommes au dessein d’Amour de Dieu pour ses créatures. Depuis l’Incarnation du Fils de Dieu en Jésus de Nazareth, parfait Adorateur du Père, toute personne humaine peut — par Lui, avec Lui et en Lui — s’adresser au Père en toute confiance.

La liturgie de nos monastères puise aux sources des Églises d’Orient et d’Occident. L’année liturgique déploie le Mystère du Christ selon deux lignes qui, constamment, s’entrecroisent :

  • celle des grands cycles de Noël, Manifestation de Dieu se faisant homme, et de la Pâque du Rédempteur s’achevant dans le don de l’Esprit et la naissance de l’Église à la Pentecôte,

  • et celle des fêtes ponctuelles, où l’Église célèbre et contemple un Mystère particulier de la vie du Rédempteur ou l’œuvre de la grâce en certains de ses grands saints.

Au cours de chaque célébration liturgique, l’Esprit Saint répand silencieusement dans les cœurs le Feu de l’Amour qu’Il est en plénitude. À ceux qui L’invoquent, Il prodigue ses dons, afin de hâter la venue du Royaume de Dieu. Pour ceux qui la célèbrent avec foi et en communion avec l’Église du ciel et de la terre, la Liturgie est un appel à passer de leur propre vie à la Vie du Christ, et à être « transformés de gloire en gloire » 2 Co 3, 18. C’est pourquoi, quand ils participent à l’Eucharistie, vers laquelle converge toute la Liturgie, les Chrétiens sont appelés à passer de la mort à la Vie, du mensonge à la Vérité, de la discorde à l’Amour, des ténèbres du péché à la Lumière qui est Quelqu’un.
La Pâque est la Fête des fêtes qui célèbre par avance la déification de tout homme qui croit en Jésus et unit sa volonté à celle du Père. Passé de ce monde au Père en Jésus, il entre dans « le Huitième Jour », le Jour nouveau et éternel du Christ ressuscité. C’est avec la Vierge Marie, la Mère de Jésus et sa première disciple, que l’Église célèbre ce Mystère. Jour après jour, elle enfante à cette Vie selon l’Évangile celui qui, avec saint Jean au pied de la Croix, la reçoit pour Mère.