THE STAGES OF MONASTIC LIFE

In the Family of Bethlehem, the first stage of monastic life is “THE SCHOOL OF LIFE”. It is a time when one encounters more deeply the Person and the life of Jesus, in studying the Gospel verse by verse. By Him, with Him and in Him, the Person of the Father and the Person of the Holy Spirit reveal themselves little by little. One begins to see more clearly that the Virgin Mary was the perfect disciple of Jesus: for 30 years her Son formed her, and she lived under his gaze while remaining unceasingly in the presence of the Father. THE SCHOOL OF LIFE is also the first experience of sharing the life of the monastic community.

The celebration of the clothing of the monastic habit marks the entrance into monastic life. This stage of POSTULANCY is a time of discernement and of spiritual and doctrinal formation. The young monk or monastic sister becomes a living stone of the community, responsible for the incessant and secret liturgy of his/her heart. The spiritual aid necessary for his/her growth is provided.

The NOVITIATE follows, which is a preparation for the FIRST PROFESSION. The novice learns how to let himself/herself be transformed by the triple splendor of the grace of Christ obedient, chaste and poor. The totality of the formation that is offered through catecheses, reading, studies and spiritual accompaniement opens the novice’s heart to the secret work of the Holy Spirit.

The FIRST PROFESSION is celebrated during the course of a eucharistic liturgy in order to manifest the fact that the Church responds to this act in which the monk or monastic sister commits himself/herself to God and to the community for a period of five years by the vows of chastity, poverty, conversion, obedience, stability and continual growth in love. Family and friends are invited to participate in the joy of this consecration.

Several years later, the PERPETUAL PROFESSION is celebrated in solitude. The monk or monastic sister commits himself/herself definitively, in an irrevocable manner “until death” to live the vows already pronounced. A cycle of biblical, philosophical, patristic and theological studies completes the monastic formation received during the first years in the monastery.

After the perpetual profession, the monks who receive the calling, discerned in the name of the Church by the Prior of Bethlehem, are ordained priests in order to exercise their priesthood in solitude.

LES ÉTAPES DE LA VIE MONASTIQUE

Dans la Famille de Bethléem, la première étape de la vie monastique est « L’ÉCOLE DE VIE ». C’est un temps où l’on apprend à connaître la Personne et la vie de Jésus, en scrutant l’Évangile ligne à ligne. Par Lui, avec Lui et en Lui, la personne du Père se dévoile peu à peu ainsi que celle du Saint Esprit. La Vierge Marie apparaît comme la parfaite disciple de Jésus : pendant trente ans elle s’est laissée former par son Fils, vivant sous son regard, demeurant sans cesse en présence du Père. L’ÉCOLE DE VIE consiste aussi en une première expérience de vie dans la communauté monastique.

La célébration de la prise d’habit marque l’entrée dans la vie monastique. Cette étape du POSTULAT est un temps de discernement et de formation spirituelle et doctrinale au cours duquel le jeune moine ou la jeune moniale devient une pierre vivante de la communauté, responsable de l’incessante et secrète liturgie du cœur. L’aide spirituelle nécessaire à sa croissance lui est donnée.

Suit le temps du NOVICIAT qui prépare à la PREMIÈRE PROFESSION. Le ou la novice apprend à se laisser assimiler par la triple splendeur de la grâce du Christ obéissant, chaste et pauvre. L’ensemble de la formation qui lui est offerte à travers les catéchèses, les lectures, les études et l’accompagnement spirituel dispose son cœur au travail secret de l’Esprit Saint.

La PREMIÈRE PROFESSION est célébrée au cours d’une liturgie eucharistique pour manifester que l’Église répond de cet acte où le moine ou la moniale s’engage envers Dieu et la communauté pour une durée de cinq ans par des vœux : chasteté, pauvreté, conversion, obéissance, stabilité et de continuelle croissance dans l’amour. La famille et les amis sont invités à participer à la joie de cette consécration.

Quelques années plus tard est célébrée dans la solitude la PROFESSION PERPÉTUELLE où le moine ou la moniale s’engage définitivement, d’une manière irrévocable, « jusqu’à la mort », à vivre des vœux déjà prononcés. Un cycle d’études bibliques, philosophiques, patristiques et théologiques, complète la formation monastique reçue dès les premières années de présence au monastère.

Après leur profession perpétuelle, les moines qui en reçoivent l’appel, discerné au nom de l’Église par le Prieur de Bethléem, sont ordonnés prêtres pour un sacerdoce de solitude.